Hello everyone. I figured a blog would be a good way to keep people updated without assaulting everyone's inboxes. So not only does Chester eat better than I do and make 4 times what I do, he also now has his own blog. I figured you could catch up on Chester at your own leisure because I know I hate when I get a million emails, even if it's something I care about. If anyone prefers another method, please let me know by comment, email, carrier pigeon, what have you.
Chester is doing well lately. He's walking more on his paw then he did at first, but the peeling pads are pretty tender so he doesn't like it. He can jump much more effectively though, so I think he's getting used to it. After we brought him home from WSU, watching him jump was too pathetic to handle. He would fall over on his side or run into the wall. Now he can at least make it onto the couch without a tiny ladder.
Gyan is at a conference in Ottawa until Tuesday so it's just me and the Cheese Baby. He's always so much more affectionate when only one other person is around. Probably because with two of us here, one is always fawning over him so he doesn't have to vie for our attention.  He's spent 18 hours in my arms, only allowing me to walk away when I showered.
He's becoming increasingly jealous of my computer as I've been on it so much more this week. Every time I open it, he climbs into my lap, then climbs on top of the keyboard and bathes with no intention of moving. So many of my emails have been sent unfinished with a million zzzs at the end. 
Picture
Good try, mama. You know I don't approve of you paying attention to anything but me. If you want to save my life, you're going to need to figure out how to do it on your own time.
Chester has a vet appointment tomorrow to figure out about his surgery and hopefully schedule it. I'm terrified of having him go under again. It'll have been a month since his first surgery on July 13th, and I just hope he's strong enough to undergo anesthesia again. If letting his toes stay wouldn't kill him, I would do it in a heartbeat.
I talked to the lady at The Cat and Dog Shop (http://www.catanddogshop.com) while buying food today and she had me print up some flyers so she could have people donate there. It's a pretty small, but well run shop if you ever get the chance to go there. The people there are super friendly and knowledgeable. Anyway, you can now donate there too. It's amazing how far this has spread. I'm still so blown away.
Chester needs to have his foot soaked in warm soapy water to clean it once a day, and especially now because he's constantly licking and biting at it. Let me tell you how much fun that is with one person.
Gyan's mom came by yesterday to give me some comphry root to make into a paste and wrap around his foot with gauze or a comphry leaf. Probably one of the funniest things I've ever done was wrap a cat in leaves and expect him to not kill me in my sleep. He delt with it for a moment, but once I turned my head, he was shredding it. I'll try to get a picture for everyone next time. Maybe when there are four hands to handle everything.
Does anyone have experience with comphry? It's supposed to help skin and necrosis, but I have no idea what I'm doing.
Well, that's pretty much it. Life is pretty boring over here for now. I just cannot wait until everything is over and we can stop bringing him to the vet every week and giving him meds every six hours. He's so untrusting of us now it makes me sad. I can't wait until all I have to do is love him and feed him again. And then maybe get some time in to work on my thesis again. But baby steps...



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Chester is a 4ish year old orange tabby with a huge medical bill and an equally huge ability to love. His attitude is no small entity either.
    He goes by the names Chester, Cheetoh, Cheese, Cheeselog, Whiney-pants, and Scarf Cat, among others.

    Archives

    May 2013
    March 2013
    February 2013
    January 2013
    December 2012
    November 2012
    October 2012
    September 2012
    August 2012
    July 2012

    Categories

    All